• About
  • Schedule

Join the Canberra Symphony Orchestra for ActewAGL Llewellyn Series, Horn.
Conductor: Nicholas Milton AM (artistic patronage ActewAGL)
Horn: Hector McDonald

BORODIN: Polovtsian Dances from Prince Igor
R. STRAUSS: Horn Concerto No.1 in E flat major, TrV117, op.11
PROKOFIEV: Symphony No.5 in B flat major, op.100

Richard Strauss’ Horn Concertos are among the most demanding solo works for this notoriously temperamental instrument, and while many horn players have cursed Strauss for this, Hector McDonald will make the challenging concerto sound effortless. McDonald returns to the Canberra stage for the first time in almost 30 years to perform Strauss’ Horn Concerto No.1.

The concerto is preceded by the exotic romanticism of composer and chemist Alexander Borodin’s Polovtsian Dances from his opera, Prince Igor. The dances display graceful melodic lines, rich tonal colours and energetic rhythms, which create a feeling of frenzied celebration and enthusiasm.
Prokofiev’s Symphony No.5 in B flat major celebrates a vision of the human spirit that is free, happy, pure and noble. Fellow composer and conductor Koussevitzky described the symphony as “… the greatest musical event in many, many years. The greatest since Brahms and Tchaikovsky! It is magnificent! It is yesterday, it is today, it is tomorrow.”

16-17 Aug

Canberra Symphony Orchestra's ACTEWAGL Llewellyn Series, Horn

Location: Llewellyn Hall

Pre-concert talk: 6.45pm

Concert: 7:30pm